Saturday, 5 May 2012

FPLH's Premier League Manager of the Year

FPLH's Premier League Manager of the Year

With the season coming to a close we are pleased to announce our Premier League Manager of the Year.  It was a tough decision to make as many teams have done better than expected by bucking pre-season predictions.  Notable mentions must to go to Brendan Rodgers for Swansea's Barcelona Lite type football, as well as Paul Lambert's dogged Norwich.  Many slated these two newly promoted teams for the drop yet both are expected to secure comfortable mid-table places.  Wigan's recent improved form has not gone unnoticed under Martinez either.  In addition, credit to Roy Hodgson for continuing his rejuvenation with West Brom and being on the cusp of a Top 10 finish, as the FA finally come calling for him.

But despite the aforementioned names, one manager has truly defied expectation more than most.  Alan Pardew came to Newcastle United following the notorious sacking of Chris Houghton.  This was followed by sales of Carroll, Nolan and Barton during 2011.  Yet the players he bought in to replace the former Geordie favourites has proved to be successful.  Pardew's "French Revolution" signings inspired an unbeaten start to the season.  They proved it was no fluke as they maintained a Top 6 position through out the season.  Newcastle United are now close to securing 4th place and a Champions League spot, following their remarkable 0-2 victory at Stamford Bridge.  Time will tell whether Pardew can retain the same calibre of players and continue the Geordies' fantastic run into the 2012/2013 season.  But for the time being he has done enough to win FPLH's inaugural Premier League Manager of the Year award.  Congratulations.

FPLH's Manager of the Year:

1st - Alan Pardew (Newcastle United)

2nd - Brendan Rodgers (Swansea City)

3rd - Roy Hodgson (West Bromwich Albion)